The Callum Au Big Band

The Callum Au Big Band

The Callum Au Big Band is a critically-acclaimed 17 piece big band, led by musical director Callum Au, and featuring many of the rising stars of the UK jazz scene. Since its formation in 2009, the band has been fortunate to perform with some of the finest jazz musicians in the world, including trombonist Mark Nightingale, flautist Gareth Lockrane, and saxophonist Nigel Hitchcock. It has performed in many of the top London jazz clubs, and has entertained at private functions and corporate events throughout the UK. The band is in high demand for recording sessions, and has featured on the albums of Iain MacKenzie and Anthony Strong.

The band frequently features original compositions and arrangements written by Callum and other band members. Influenced by writers such as Duke Ellington, Laurence Cottle, and Nelson Riddle, the band creates its own distinctive and original sound by laying down contemporary grooves and harmonies, while respecting the classic building-blocks of the tradition.

In addition to its ever-increasing collection of original scores, the band performs music from a vast library of the classic big band repertoire, from Billy May to Sammy Nestico, Thad Jones, and Count Basie.

The band released its debut album in January 2013, recorded at Angel Studios and entitled ‘Something’s Coming’. This album featured Callum’s original arrangement of the West Side Story Suite: a six-movement, extended work based on some of the most famous melodies from Leonard Bernstein’s musical. Recent public outings of this suite include performances in top London jazz venues including Ronnie Scott’s and Boisdale Canary Wharf, and a concert at Cadogan Hall as part of the Out to Lunch Festival. To complement the piece in a concert programme, Callum has also written an arrangement of George Gershwin’s ‘Rhapsody in Blue’, to feature Piano, Clarinet, and Big Band. The piece premiered at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in 2014, and featured acclaimed pianist James Pearson.

Band Members

The Callum Au Big Band uses players carefully selected from a pool of the most talented jazz musicians on the London scene, all graduates of top London conservatoires or the National Youth Jazz Orchestra. Below is a list of all current band members:

Simon Marsh, Jim Gold, Tommy Laurence, Richard Shepherd, Nadim Teimoori, Gareth Lockrane, Jon Shenoy

Tom Walsh, George HoggHenry Armburg-Jennings, Freddie Gavita, Louis Dowdeswell

Callum AuRobbie Harvey, Ross Anderson, Barry Clements

Chris Eldred

Jon Russell

Laurence Ungless

Ed Richardson

Emma Smith, Iain Mackenzie, Anthony Strong