Track Listing:

01. September in the Rain
02. Roots
03. Something’s Coming
04. Maria
05. Cool
06. Somewhere
07. America
08. Tonight
09. Beloved
10. Gentleman Jack

Bonus Track: Barker Is Willing

Digital Download (£7.00).

Price: £8.40

Download the title track for free! Something’s Coming

We are very excited to announce the release of our debut album, “Something’s Coming”! This album was recorded at Angel Studios in late 2012, and fully features the 17 members of the big band, alongside a staggering complement of special guests: vocalists Emma Smith and Iain Mackenzie, flautist Gareth Lockrane, and saxophonists Peter Long and Nigel Hitchcock.

The centrepiece of the album is Callum’s new West Side Story Suite for Big Band – a continuous work in six movements based on some of the most famous melodies from Leonard Bernstein’s musical. The Suite was first performed in West Side Story’s 50th Anniversary year at the Cadogan Hall’s Out to Lunch festival. It reinvents the well-known and popular music from the show, with each movement giving a new big band twist to Bernstein’s melodies, from the shifting time signatures of “Something’s Coming” to the electric, Jaco-influenced “America”, and the pensive, gospel treatment of “Somewhere”.

In addition to the suite, the album features a set of new commissions specially written for the band: Callum Au’s ‘Gentleman Jack’; Freddie Gavita’s ‘Beloved’ and UK flute virtuoso and master composer/arranger Gareth Lockrane’s ‘Roots’. The album’s first track, Callum’s arrangement of the Harry Warren standard “September in the Rain”, is a very conscious tribute to the great American big bands of Count Basie, Nelson Riddle, and Thad Jones, some of the band’s greatest influences.

You can buy the album via PayPal through the link above. Please allow up to 7 days for delivery of hard copies.

Audio Samples

Album Personnel

Woodwinds: Lucas Dodd (Soprano/Alto Saxes); Jim Gold (Soprano/Alto Saxes); Simon Marsh (Tenor Sax, Flute, Clarinet); Tommy Laurence (Tenor Sax); Richard Shepherd (Baritone Sax, Bass Clarinet, Clarinet), Peter Long (Tubax), Gareth Lockrane (Flutes, Piccolo), Nigel Hitchcock (Solo Alto Sax)

Trumpets/Flugelhorns: Tom Walsh; George Hogg; Freddie Gavita; Henry Armburg Jennings

Low Brass: Callum Au (Tenor Trombone, Euphonium); Robbie Harvey (Tenor Trombone); Ross Anderson (Tenor Trombone); Barry Clements (Bass Trombone, Tuba)

Rhythm: Jon Russell (Guitar); Chris Eldred (Piano, Keyboards); Laurence Ungless (Double Bass, Bass Guitar); Ed Richardson (Drums)

Vocalists: Emma Smith, Iain Mackenzie

Engineered and Mixed by Steve Price and Jeremy Murphy, Angel Studios, 27-28 November 2012. Mastered by Ian Cooper, Metropolis Studios, 17 December 2012. CABB CD001, produced by Callum Au.


BTS Magazine – Steve Wiest
JazzWise – Robert Shore
Bebop Spoken Here – Lance Liddle
All About Jazz – Bruce Lindsay
London Jazz Blog – Matthew Wright
JazzUK – Phil Meadows