Skip to content
Callum Au (logo)
Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Songs And Stories


Please note: due to Covid-19 circumstances, international delivery delays are highly likely.

plus postage & packing — includes VAT
SKU: N/A Category: Tags: ,

More Information

Two leading lights of the British jazz scene: composer, arranger and trombonist, Callum Au, and internationally admired singer, Claire Martin, join forces for a new album, ‘Songs and Stories’ on the Copenhagen-based Stunt label. The album, featuring a total of 82 exceptional musicians, from the UK, Europe and the USA, is a stunningly arranged selection of jazz standards and American Songbook classics, given compelling, sensitive, modern orchestral and big band treatments, whilst drawing extensive style and influence from the definitive peaks of this genre in past eras.

This is Claire Martin’s first big band or large orchestral recording – and she is thrilled to be working with Callum Au, who she regards as a “major talent”, with many great successes ahead of him. The album features a superb line-up of soloists and lead musicians including Ryan Quigley, Andy Wood, Freddie Gavita, Nadim Teimoori, Sam Mayne, Louis Dowdeswell, Andy Martin, Matt Skelton and John Mills – plus conductor Mark Nightingale.

Track List

Pure Imagination
Let’s Get Lost
I Get Along Without You Very Well
The Folks Who Live on the Hill
Hello, Young Lovers!
I Concentrate on You
I Never Went Away
The Night We Called It a Day
Stars Fell on Alabama
Don’t Like Goodbyes
You and the Night and the Music (CD only)


Arrangements Callum Au
Vocals Claire Martin

Big Band

Trumpets Louis Dowdeswell,
Tom Walsh, George Hogg, James Davison
Trombones Andy Wood, Callum Au,
Chris Traves, Barry Clements
Saxophones Sam Mayne, Simon Marsh,
Paul Booth, Tom Richards, Martin Williams
Piano Rob Barron
Guitar Tommy Emmerton
Bass Jeremy Brown
Drums Matt Skelton
Percussion James Turner


Conductor Mark Nightingale
Violins John Mills* (leader)
Jeremy Isaac*, Anna Harpham, Ben Buckton, Charis Jenson, Charles Mutter, Ciaran McCabe, Emma Parker, Everton Nelson, Helena Wood,
Gemma Sharples, Katerina Nazarova, Kate Robinson, Lizzie Ball,
Marianne Haynes, Maria Spengler, Matt Elston, Natalia Bonner, Nicole Wilson, Patrick Savage, Pete Graham, Ruth Rogers, Thom Gould, Tom Piggott Smith
Violas Lydia Lowndes-Northcott*, Anna Cooper, Annie Beilby,
Ben Newton, Bruce White, Bryony Mycroft, Jonathan Barritt, Kay Stephen
Celli Bozidar Vukotic*, Adrian Bradbury, Frank Schaeffer,
James Barralet, Magda Pietraszewska, Rowena Calvert
Basses Dom Worsley*, Richard Pryce, Laurence Ungless
Woodwind Karen Jones*, Monica McCarron, Jane Marshall,
Howard McGill, Simon Marsh, Jessamy Holder, Peter Long
Horns Richard Watkins*, Katy Woolley, Corrine Bailey, Matt Gunner
Trombones Andy Wood*, Matt Lewis, Barry Clements
Tuba Owen Slade
Rhythm Bass Laurence Ungless
Drums Matt Skelton
Percussion James Turner
Piano & Celesta Rob Barron
Guitar Tommy Emmerton
Harp Hugh Webb

* = principal



Production Notes

Recording engineer Geoff Foster
Assistant engineer Laurence Anslow
Mix engineer Louis Dowdeswell
Mastering engineer Gavin Lurssen

Music preparation by Phil Knights
Photography by Kenny McCracken
Styling by Bec Salmon
Graphic Design by Nadja von Massow /

Produced by Callum Au and Louis Dowdeswell

Big Band recorded at Stadium Studios, Wembley, London, UK, 11–13 February 2019
Orchestra recorded at Lyndhurst Hall, Air Studios, London, UK, 20 March 2019
Mastered at Lurssen Mastering, Burbank CA, USA, 15 January 2020